Jen Reads: The Silver Linings Playbook

Ever read a book that you liked so much that you just had to pick it up again and read it?

I finished reading The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick.

I loved it. I have lacked hope in my life. I am the glass half full type of gal. Not to say I complain a lot but I am not know to think life has a silver lining. I am waiting for things to go wrong and they usually do.

What I loved about this book is the hope it gave me.

Pat Peoples has spent 4 years in a neural health facility after something bad happened with his wife. He believe he is being temporarily separated from his wife in away time. He is taken out of the institution by his mother, who takes him home.  In order to stay out of the hospital, he must attend weekly therapy sessions and take his medicine.  All the while he works out obsessively in hopes that his new buff self will help his cause if when his away time is over.  His best friend invites him to dinner and meets Tiffany. Tiffany is also depressed and she hooks on to Pat, running with him. She proposes a plan to get his estranged wife back.

As a single woman, I definitely sometimes am worried about telling a man that I might be dating about the battle I have with depression. Do I tell him about the daily cocktail I take? When do I tell him? Do I talk about my past? Am I scaring him away?

I never thought that I could possibly meet some that is like me. Someone who would understand and I would not have to hid myself, which is what happened in previous relationships and probably why they failed.

Reading this book just brought a glimmer of hope. Something that has sorely been lacking in my life. The author of this book got it right. I highly recommend the book.

The movie based on this book comes out November 21st and I can’t wait to see it!

 

 

This entry was posted in Jen Reads, The Silver Lining Playbook. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Jen Reads: The Silver Linings Playbook

  1. Sounds like a good book! I'm actually looking for things to add to my reading list right now so I'm putting this on there. 🙂

  2. Nic says:

    It's such a lovely book, isn't it? I keep meaning to see if there are any others by the same author. I didn't know about the film. I'll look forward to that. 🙂 P x

  3. Elizabeth says:

    This sounds like a good one!

  4. Jen says:

    I saw the movie preview. That is how I found the book and based on that preview, I HAD to read it. I loved it.

  5. Jen says:

    I really recommend it!

  6. Jen says:

    You should. I really liked it!

Leave a Reply

