Just Another Crazy Day

Today started with a therapy appointment then a 1.5 hour trip into work. I work in a city next to Boston. Normally, it might take me a half hour to get to work, if I drive. Today was horrible. To top it off, once I got off the highway, it took a half an hour to make it around the corner to work. I should have just turned around and hid under the bed.

When you start your day riled up about something, then get yelled at by some tenants of mine in Virginia, I was ready to cry.

Then, there was a lot of buzz about a private party at Blogher. I had filled out the interest form and today was the day that invites were going out. Of course, I am not at the top of invite lists for Blogher private parties. As a mental health blogger, I write about some tough subjects. I understand. I do not write this blog for money or for any reason except as therapy to get the crazy thoughts out of my head. I have met a lot of great people and found a lot of great blogs through blogging and I intend to keep it up for as long as I can. I just don’t get a lot marketers actively looking for my type of blogger often.

I did not get an invite to the party. I wasn’t really expecting one. There were a lot of people who were interested and only a few spots. I am a mental health blogger. Not exactly someone to have a party, some would say. Yet, I could not stop that little voice that said “You’re not good enough.” Invite me? Really. It lasted about a half an hour and as usual fed off of itself.

I am going to parties at Blogher. I have tickets to some first come, first serve parties. I did not get any private invites but you know what, really in the back of my mind, I am ok with that. I am not going to Blogher to get lots of stuff or to get drunk all the time, I am going to meet new blogging friends.

This entry was posted in blogging, Blogher 12, Boston, depression. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Just Another Crazy Day

  1. Shannon says:

    Well if it had have been based on us voting I would have voted for you to get invited!♥

  2. Great attitude, Jen, and I hope you have a great time! 🙂

  3. Sarah says:

    One year if wish I could come over to blogher. We could party!

  4. Unsound says:

    I'd invite you 🙂

  5. Elizabeth says:

    Sorry you didn't get invited. I know that is a bummer and if you already have confidence issues, well, it's a trigger.

  6. 71º & Sunny says:

    Ugh – Boston area driving! Blah. My therapist was in Boston and most days it would take me an hour to get there, but some times 2 hours. V-E-R-Y frustrating.I'm so sorry about not getting the private invite. I struggle with the exact same types of thoughts about stuff like that. I always want to be included and if I'm not, well, I feel like a complete unlovable loser. Which of course, you are not.

  7. Jen says:

    Boston driving has been especially bad lately. I am happy to take the T most of the time.We are not unlovable losers 🙂

  8. Jen says:

    A total trigger.

  9. Jen says:

    If you go to Blogher, I am so there.

  10. Jen says:

    It hurt but I moved on.

Leave a Reply

