Liven Up the Rest of My 30s

I turn 40 in about a year and 4 months. I can’t believe it but I have decided that I want to make some changes prior to that big day. Here are 10 things I want to do before leaving my 30s:

1. Move away

Yes! Denver is on the top of my list but who knows. I have lived in Boston almost all of my life and I need a change and this is a big one.

2. Ask a man out

Yes, I am a big wuss when it comes to men. I think that no one would love me but I tend to talk myself down and now, that must end. If I want to change things, I have to jump into the fog.

3. Learn to swim and skate

I don’t know how to swim. We never went to be beach and I was taller than all of the pools in the neighborhood so I never had to learn. I was too much of a klutz to be given a pair of skates.

4. I want a tattoo.

This is crazy but I want a live, laugh, love tattoo on my foot or shoulder. Like this:

 source

5. See the puffins in Maine.

Atlantic puffins nest on 6 islands in Maine. I could do a day trip before I do #1 or maybe make a weekend of it.

 source

6. Have compassion on a continuing basis for myself

It will be hard but I deserve it. 

7. Go to Italy

I want to go to where it all began for my mother, San Donato Val di Comino.  I am embracing my Italian half.

8.  Get a dog.

If I am going to move, I will get a place where I can have a dog. I grew up with cats, dogs, hamsters, gerbils, iguanas, I am an equal opportunity animal love.

9. Volunteer more

I had thought about volunteering for the hospice service that took care of Mom but I am not sure that would be good for me.

10. Drive across country.

I love road trips and well, I have always wanted to hit the road and see the country.

 

This entry was posted in to do. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Liven Up the Rest of My 30s

  1. Sarah says:

    I love that tattoo! Your list has everything I'd like to do and be. Even the puffins. They are pretty amazing.

  2. Sarah G says:

    Re #4, do it (well…do all of them, but I'm whole-heartedly supporting #4)! My advice on placement: put it where you can see it! I have two tattoos, one is on my back – on the rare occasion that I catch a glimpse of it in the mirror, it makes me happy to see it because it has a lot of meaning for me, but it makes me sad because I realize how rarely I actually see it. I guess what I'm saying is go for the foot, because you'll see it and it will make you happy.

  3. I love your list! I need to add some specific things like this to my "before I'm 50" list. I like the tattoo idea on the foot, too. And having animals around just makes life better, I think.

  4. This comment has been removed by the author.

  5. Sorry about the last comment, I goofed and it had to go :). Anyway, that is a wonderful list and a great idea. I can not wait to see all of that unfold for you. http://learningtoliveagainmyweightlossjourny.blogspot.com/

  6. Jess says:

    I would love to help you with the first part of number 3. I am scarely trained to do such and have a decent success rate.

  7. Jen says:

    You should come with me 🙂 I am so going to do the tattoo.

  8. Jen says:

    Do you have any shop recommendations? I don't know where to go!

  9. Jen says:

    Oh! I would love that.

  10. Jen says:

    I will definitely be writing about it.

  11. Sarah G says:

    Fat Ram's in Jamaica Plain

Leave a Reply

