Why I Will Never Be A Daily Weigher

I know what I am about to say is not rational. I know your body goes up and down up to 5 pounds per day. I know that I will weigh less in the morning than I do in the evening. I know.

My mind does not think rationally about weight. It just doesn’t. After therapy and groups, I wonder if it ever will.
I am participating in a challenge amongst friends on Facebook. They wanted a starting weight so first thing in the morning I stepped on the scale Friday morning before I stepped into the shower. I liked what I saw. It was a good 275.
Then, tonight I went to Weight Watchers where I saw 277.  I hated what I saw. I hated that I felt like I was going to cry. I hated the hate that the number drew up.
What was different? I weighed in at night with clothing on a different scale.
I wish I could look at the number and not feel anything. I wish I felt indifferent. I don’t. The fluctuations, daily changes, bodily functions and everything effect your weigh ins. That constant movement of the number would drive me crazy.

I can not do it to myself. I would drive myself insane. I did lose 3 pounds from the last weigh in totaling 8.4 pounds gone. That is a lot of butter sticks (about 33) , why can’t I be happy?


Once a week is good enough for me.

This entry was posted in self esteem, self image, the scale. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Why I Will Never Be A Daily Weigher

  1. Sarah G says:

    8.4 pounds is awesome! I think you should just use your WW weigh ins for your facebook challenge – it's too much to be weighing more often on different scales!

  2. Congrats on the 8.4 pounds, Jen! I agree with Sarah G. Can you use the WW weigh ins for the challenge?I've heard that weighing once a week will give a more accurate picture of weight loss. Daily fluctuations aren't as "meaningful."

  3. Elizabeth says:

    8.4 pounds is a lot! Great work!I can't be a daily weigher either. I weight about twice a month… it's all my mind can handle.

  4. Jen says:

    Yes, one WI for me. The sticks of butter really puts it in perspective for me.

  5. Jen says:

    I will use the weight watchers WI for my weigh in.

  6. Jen says:

    Thank you! I should only be weighing in once or twice a month, or so my therapist says.

  7. 71 & Sunny says:

    Congratulations on the weight loss! I know you worked hard.I just started trying to lose weight again. I started on Monday. Ugh.

  8. Melissa says:

    You really shouldn't weight yourself more than once a week anyway because of all for the reasons you stated. Good for trying to get healthy – that's more important than any weight.

Leave a Reply

