Island Thinking

I had to drive into work this morning due to an appointment  at the doctors so I decided to bring my workout clothing and stop at Castle Island on my way home for a walk around the “island”. Castle Island is not an island and does not have a castle on it but it is a great place to walk. It is home to Fort Independence, which was once a British army fort and after the Revolution, an US Army post.

IMG_0026

IMG_0028

I had stuff to think about on my walk. The doctor’s appointment I had was my yearly ob/gyn appointment. He is a congenial guy and the appointment went well. At the end, he handed me a BMI chart and said, “Your BMI is very high and the trend over three years is <<<<up up up>>>.”

Yes, doctor I know I have gained quite a bit of weight, in fact, all of what I lost and it is not the first time that I have done so in the last 10 years (two other 75 – 100 pound roller coaster rides up and down). I said I was making changes in my life. Finally I am ready and I want to be healthy. I said I do not want to follow my father’s footsteps.

Since I did not go to Weight Watchers this week, I did see that my weight was down from last week, which is good. I  was fine other wise with the appointment. It was a typical yearly appointment. The doctor did not mention that I should not have kids or when I was going to settle down, which might have sent me over the edge.

I had over 2 miles to walk and think. The weather was kind of chilly in Boston today and the sky was threatening rain, which we really need here.

IMG_0030

The big memorial pictured is in honor of lost sailors in the early 1800s.

IMG_0031

As I was walking, the trail goes over water in 1 place and I took a picture of the harbor side above and the cove side below (with a Lufthansa plane landing).

IMG_0035

I like to go to Castle Island around dinner time to watch the big planes taking off for Europe but the wind has to be just right and tonight, the wind was not right. Planes were landing one after another after another. I like to dream when I watch the planes and wish I was on them.

IMG_0034

Finally, the picture of my feet on the little bridge between the harbor and cover side.

This entry was posted in Castle Island. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Island Thinking

  1. 71º & Sunny says:

    I live pretty close to an airport and many times when I am driving down the street I can see planes flying overhead. More than once I have wished that I was on one of those so I know the feeling!Looks like a nice place to walk. I've never heard of Castle Island.

  2. Sarah says:

    If I could view an airbus or 747 landing on my walk, I would probably never stop! Happy walking:)

  3. Jen says:

    It is. It wasn't crowded because the weather was so-so and that is when it is better.

  4. Jen says:

    It was like one after the other… a little airplane landing party.

  5. Elizabeth says:

    I love that you have such a lovely historical place to walk! I wrote about my weight worries and struggles just yesterday. I need to get myself out of the pre-diabetic category.

  6. Wow, those photos are stunning! What a beautiful place to walk. I'm glad you enjoyed it. I like walking when it's kind of cool, too.

  7. Jen says:

    I like having my phone with me on my walks. One goal was to take more pictures!

  8. Jen says:

    I am trying not to follow Dad's footsteps health wise, which is what I am doing now.

Leave a Reply

