To Move or Not to Move

Guess where I am making this blog post from tonight?

My new laptop!

Hopefully my cord chewing beast will have his cord chewing days numbered because I will not need to snake the cord all over the apartment any longer to get internet service!

I have other news as well. My rat in a cage syndrome is alive and well.

What is rat in a cage syndrome?

Well, I have always had a big of escape wanderlust. I went far away to college. After school, I ran away to a guy in New York state. I always told myself I would leave Boston once my Mother died and well, now that it has happened, I feel the call. I have lived almost all of my life in the Boston area. I want to experience the country and world outside of Boston. I sort of felt like a rat looking out from a cage thinking life would just be good if I just could get out!

I have harbingers of guilt in my life though. Dad tells me “Oh, you’ll never leave Boston.” Why does he say this, because he does not want me to leave!

Where would I live? Right now Denver is at the top of my list. Pittsburgh was pretty cool as well. I am going to Boise to check it out.

Some friends of mine say that if I move from south of Boston to north of Boston that will be big enough change for me. I am a South Shore gal and the North Shore is just a foreign place to me but not far enough! I don’t know about that. If I do stay, I would like to move into Boston somewhere.

Have you ever moved across the country? How did you begin to do it?

Also, I think I am going to make the big Blogger to Word Press move soon. Stay tuned.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to To Move or Not to Move

  1. I think it's a great idea that you're visiting Boise, in a totally different part of the country. That will give you an idea of what you might like to do.I moved from central rural Virginia to northwest Ohio for five years to attend graduate school. It was a big change for me. I didn't know anyone, and the midwest is different from the south–not better or worse, just different. The weather was VERY different. I'm glad I came back to Virginia, but I'm glad I had the experience.My husband and I would both like to visit out west.

  2. 71º & Sunny says:

    I've lived most of my life in the same city. But I have traveled a bit. A few years back my husband and I visited Santa Monica, CA. We both felt like that might be a neat place to live. Never been to CO, but I've heard it's a great place.Enjoy your new laptop!

  3. Elizabeth says:

    Have fun with that new lap top! I have always lived in Lexington, Ky and with my Mom at that. I wish I had a little wanderlust at times but I get anxious to think of going anywhere even just traveling.

  4. Angela says:

    My husband and I took a leap of faith and moved from NJ to VA without knowing a soul there. We found the town and jobs online and just went for it. We made great friends there and loved the area. After we had our son we moved to PA to be closer to family because we were just too remote in VA with no kids nearby. It would have been fine for just the two of us but there was nobody around for our son to play with. PA was wrong for us (nothing to do with the area) so we moved back to NJ, less than a mile from our first house! If you have wanderlust, go for it! It may be the best or worst thing for you but you'll never know unless you try. Don't set yourself up for regret; if it's something you feel strongly about then go for it. And I can attest to the fact that nothing is forever; if you're unhappy after your move then move somewhere else. Of course your dad doesn't want you to move because he would miss you but you can always visit. That being said, only you know whether your wanderlust can be satisfied by traveling or by moving. If you happen to land in my neck of the woods, I'd love to meet up. Best of luck to you!

  5. MaryFran says:

    Good luck with the decision to move. Sometimes I wish that I could just pack it up and start somewhere else fresh.

  6. Raine says:

    Move to Denver!! Seriously, I LOVED it there. I only lived there for 1.5 years but i loved it. there are few jobs, though, so definitely have something before you move out there. good luck! i hope you find some place you love. oh, and the north shore is nice too. i particularly love Salem. but you probably know that 🙂

  7. Jess G says:

    I live 2000+ miles from home in a state with no family. I did what I do best and have made my friends my family. Surprisingly, they all love to take the "orphan" child in for the holidays. The one time it does get hard is when I call home and realize that I am missing the little things like Sunday night family dinner or decorating for the holidays. I plan enough ahead of time to make it home for the big things, but those little ones get me everytime!

  8. Jen says:

    Are you near NYC?

  9. Jen says:

    I really liked Denver when I went to visit. I could see myself living there. I live within 10 miles of where I grew up and was born and I think I need a change of some kind.

  10. Jen says:

    You inspire me 🙂 I need to just do it. Once I come back from Boise/Portland, I should have a better idea of where I could live. It is such a big country with lots of places to live though.

  11. Jen says:

    It is going to be a major challenge for me. I think it might be the kick in the ass I need though.

  12. Jen says:

    I visited Louisville and loved it. We did not have time to visit Lexington when I was there. I just have this urge to escape.

  13. Angela says:

    We're about an hour away.

  14. Congratulations on the new laptop!I've moved out of state twice. Once I actually lived in Canada for 18 months, and then I moved from California to Utah for several years. I think everyone should move away at some point.

  15. Congratulations on the new laptop!I've moved out of state twice. Once I actually lived in Canada for 18 months, and then I moved from California to Utah for several years. I think everyone should move away at some point.

  16. Congratulations on the new laptop!I've moved out of state twice. Once I actually lived in Canada for 18 months, and then I moved from California to Utah for several years. I think everyone should move away at some point.

  17. MaDolce says:

    Oh Jen I'm just seeing this post – Denver! Denver! ;-)We moved to Colorado from NJ 12 years ago now and it's the best thing we ever did. Didn't know a soul, didn't even have jobs or a place to live, we just knew we had to get out of NJ or our souls would wither and die (and yeah, we were living about 3 miles from our hometown). I'm all for adventuring out into new worlds.Mary

Leave a Reply

