Flame Not Rekindled

I met up with Patrick a day early. He called me last night and asked if I was busy tonight and I said, sure, might as well get it over with. No, I was curious. Curiosity drove me to meet up with him.

We met in a generic Starbucks. I tried to get him to go to the comfy Starbucks near my house but we went to the uncomfortable one closer to my house. I got there first and he was late. We talked. I talked about my trips to Pittsburgh, Louisville, San Diego and most of all, he wanted to hear about the rodeo in Denver and mutton bustin’. He claims I have changed because I like to travel and I had a necklace on. It was a pretty generic conversation given the history.

I said I would walk home but he insisted on driving me. He parked in front of my house and that’s when the “Why did you contact me after 4 years?” talk took place and “What do you want?” question arose.

It felt good to say, you know what you hurt me. You treated me like you didn’t give a damn and you know what, I do not want that.

He asked to come in and I laughed. He’s like I am getting older and lonely. I was immature (you were 45!) and I treated you bad, he claimed. He told me that I have a heart of gold and that I was “set in my ways.” I said that no, I would rather be single then dragged through the muck again.  I said that we were not meant to be together.

He was thrown by that remark. I was not happy with him when we were together. He did not treat me well. I would not be happy with him now. I am sorry Patrick but for once, I am being honest and thinking of myself. It was good to see you but really, you thought I would would not meet up with you and I almost didn’t. I wish him well.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Flame Not Rekindled

  1. Good for you for doing what is best for YOU. That shows so much strength and confidence!

  2. Angela says:

    Good for you in knowing that he's not the right one for you and being strong enough to say so!

  3. Minxy says:

    You go girl! I'm so glad to hear that you dumped this jerk. You definitely deserve to be happy. *CHEER!*

  4. Good for you, Jen. Being alone is always better than being with the wrong person.

Leave a Reply

