5 Things: Happy Single

I was asked three times this week why I was not married. After getting over the uncomforting thoughts brought about by that question and being slightly angry, I decided that I need to embrace my single status and know that at 38, it is not the end of the world.

Last night, I got home late and was too tired to type a post, so today’s 5 things is also my happiness post because it good that I am not reveling in bringing myself down now.

It is good to be single and here’s why:

1. I can go anywhere, at anytime, with anyone, doing anything.

I answer to no one, except maybe Boots, the cat. I can go away on a whim or leave on a moments notice. A man is not holding me back.

2. I can flirt with the handsome guy at the coffee counter if I want to and go out with him if I so choose.

3. I can talk to my cat in my kitty cat voice and not have someone laugh at me.

After all, he is the true ruler. All hail the kitty.

4. I can meet the jerks who actually ask those type of “What is wrong with you that you are not married/engaged/whatever” and thank God, I am not with them.

5. I can enthrall everyone with my dating stories of men who get arrested on the date or have OCD or are attached to their cell phone during the date, etc.

Hard to talk about on going dating hell, when you are married.

Honestly, my mind can go on a rampage thinking of why I am not loveable or marriageable. I am thinking on the positive side of things. Being 38 and single is not bad and there is NOTHING WRONG WITH ME.

Anyone who says they aren’t quirky or that they don’t have baggage at my age is lying.

I also do not have the anxiety of buying a Christmas gift for him. That is the worst gift anxiety.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 5 Things: Happy Single

  1. Melissa says:

    Why would anyone care if you're married or single? Probably the same people who somehow care that I don't want kids. Being single is great. You answer to no one but yourself. I'm married but I would never think less of someone who wasn't!

  2. i doser mp3 says:

    Being single is really great….Single means you're only taking your time deciding how you want your life to be and who you want to spend it with.

  3. Sarah G says:

    I love this list – and #3 totally cracked me up, because I bet you end up finding someone who talks to Boots in that same voice when you're not in the room…I did!

  4. I'm still single at 50, and it's not always fun. There are definitely advantages, but downsides as well.There is a great documentary called Lovable made by a man named Alan Zweig. You should be able to view the documentary at http://ww3.tvo.org/video/166984/lovable. Check it out if you can.

  5. Vicky says:

    I know what you mean! Somehow your single status has come to be the ultimate decider of worth. It is just ONE part of you! One single, solitary, suscinct aspect among a million other aspects that make you who you are! I'm 25 and I've been single for a while, and yet I feel it's something I have to apologise for or explain away. Why must I? I don't question couples as to why they can't handle being on their own, or ask them if they have co-dependence issues. No. I respect their status because I believe in live and let live.Like articulatingdepression said, there are upsides and downsides. But that's true of everyone, regardless of which side of single they sit.

Leave a Reply

