Hurricane Memories

20 years ago, I packed all of belongings in my father’s Caravan and waited for Hurricane Bob to pass by so we could drive to Illinois to begin my new life at Bradley University the next day. I was afraid a tree would fall on the car and all my things would be gone but luckily, the old oaks in the back yard were still there.

Things have changed a lot since then!

Still, that was such an exciting time in my life. I was 17 and going to be 1500 miles away from home for the first time. No problems. Away from my bedroom. No one would know me. I was unusual. I had a funny accent.

I smile when I think about it.

There is something good about that.

I live less than a half mile away from the beach and I am prepared (or as much as I can be) for the visitor, Irene. I will blog tomorrow though.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hurricane Memories

  1. Take care of yourself, Jen. We're hunkering down, here, too. Will check back tomorrow.

  2. Sarah says:

    I'll be thinking of you. Be safexx

  3. Pixie says:

    Be safe, Jen xx P

Leave a Reply

