5 Blogher 11 Observations and a Giveaway!

Blogher has come and gone. I am mostly settled though hardly unpacked. I have yet to go through the Vera Bradley bag stuffed with swag. This year was different then last year in a good way. Next year it will be a lot cheaper since it is in New York and the transportation options are better.

I learned a few things.

1. San Diego is gorgeous. The weather was awesome. Except for the mornings, the sky was blue the entire time.

003

2. You can create landmarks with Twizzlers.

020

3. It was a lot of fun catching up with old friends and making new ones.

028

Laura was a friend I made last year at Blogher. I was very happy to see her again.

4. My blogging puts me out there. Yes, it does. I write about a lot on here and it is not for everyone. I attended Change Yourself: Perfect Imperfections: Blogging Your Way to Self- Acceptance. I have said before that maybe it will bite me in the butt someday but you know what, I don’t care. Let it.

5. I need downtime. During the hustle and bustle of conferences, I need to get away. The set up was more spread out then last year and it allowed the time I needed for myself.

I let things fester and ruminate and then it all comes out. My little phone issue was a sure sign of that. I had gotten a call at 6 am that Dad was in the hospital (serious back pain, he could not move, he is ok now) and then I lose my phone. My phone was my connection with the problems back in Boston. I ran around trying to find it only to not find it. I was crying my eyes out at the Hallmark Suite.

One of the representatives of Hallmark knew the representative of AT&T, and by magic, I was brought a new phone. Luckily I found my phone and got a new HTC Thunderbolt for participating in a focus group, so I do not need  this phone. My misfortune is your fortune.

The AT&T fairies brought me a Palm Pre Plus phone that had service for 30 days then could be activated on AT&T. According to the HP page on this Palm Pre Plus,  you can:

  • Visit the Web sites and get the apps you want, plus the best 3D gaming1, 2
  • Integrate multiple sources of information in one place
  • Gather your calendar information from Facebook, Google, and LinkedIn1, 2, 3
  • Automatically update contacts and calendars1, 2, 3
  • Listen to music, surf the Web, watch videos, text friends—all at the same time
  • Switch between multiple activities and applications3 at the same time
  • Navigate via multitouch gestures and the touch screen

224

226

229

It is charging. I forgot to turn it off after use. I barely used it, just to find out on Twitter that my phone was found by an honest awesome person.

Reminder, this is an AT&T phone and can be activated on AT&T.

228

All you have to do is leave a comment stating why you would like the phone. I will pick a random winner on Tuesday.

Good luck!

My exciting trip to the zoo tomorrow!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 5 Blogher 11 Observations and a Giveaway!

  1. Angela says:

    I'm glad to hear that your dad is ok! It sounds like you had a really good trip, but I'm sure you're happy to be home.That's a cool phone! I have an ancient phone with no camera, no texting; all it does is make calls lol. And it's a trac fone so even the calling is limited. I wouldn't have the first clue how to use such a fancy phone but I think I'd have a ball trying!

  2. Jodi says:

    Hey Jen,So glad you had a good time in San Diego and am really glad your dad is ok. I'm glad it wasn't something really serious and you didn't have to rush back. I can't imagine if I lost my phone right after that. I can only imagine how awful that was for you.Anyway, I would like the phone for my mom. She doesn't have a phone and it drives me nuts not to be able to get in touch with her. I have AT&T service so with this phone I'd add a line to my plan for her. 🙂

  3. Sarah says:

    Nice phone! Glad your Dad is okay. I read the run down from the panel you mentioned and it was great. I loved how she said that "perfectionism is basically a very addictive cognitive process". This is the type of stuff I would love to go to blog conferences for.

  4. Tia says:

    I am glad your dad is ok and that you were reconnected with home so quickly! That was wonderful that they got you a New phone. This was my first BlogHer and I am hoping to go next year so hopefully we can say hi! I would love the new phone because my husband lost his brand new HTC 3 weeks after signing up with AT&T so we are now looking at spending some serious $$ on replacing it. I am looking forward to your zoo post.

  5. Denise says:

    First, I'm glad everything worked out well for you and you enjoyed Blogher! My phone is an extension of myself so if I lost it, I would surely cease to exist!Secondly, I would love to have this phone for my son! It is time for him to get a new one and this would be perfect!

  6. Nifty phone! I like that it has a big screen. I CANNOT BELIEVE you got a Vera Bradley bag. How freaking cool is that? So glad you had a good time and that things are looking up.Love what what AT&T did for you. Yay AT&T!

  7. Glad your Dad is ok and you're back home! You were missed. Would love to have an updated phone, I'm unemployed right now and taking care of my Dad who is under Hospice care. Enjoy your trip to the zoo!

  8. Mistress Kay says:

    Wow! That's so kind of AT&T to do that for you. I'm impressed! That phone looks downright amazing, and it'd be neat to have a new phone. I'm glad your dad is doing alright, and it looks like you had an amazing time at BlogHer. I love the picture of San Diego!

  9. Katie J says:

    Isn't that cool! Reminds me that there are some decent folks working for AT&T.Glad your dad is okay now. I identify with you a lot with that situation. My mom is failing in health and it is a hard thing to care give for a parent.That phone is SO cool! I hear they are super fast too. I would love to have one!

  10. Summer says:

    I would love to have this phone for my daughter, who is 17 and pregnant. She doesn't live with us but we have a second line on our AT&T plan already active with family text plan, just no phone to put the SIM in. If I win this I can give it to her. Incredibly, she decided to go ahead and start her senior year of high school in the teen mothers program, even though she lives in a trailer with her bf and his less than encouraging mom. I'm really, really proud of her. But I wish we could keep in touch better.

  11. I'm so glad we met. I can "hear" you speaking in your posts!So cool about the phone, I'm glad you were able to get a replacement (at least for a short time)And most importantly, glad to hear your Dad is okay, too. 🙂

  12. K Pugliano says:

    It was great to see you again at BlogHer!! I am sorry we got separated at the Keynote lunch! I stopped to say hello at a table, looked up and could not see you in the sea of tables! Sorry about that!Hope you had a nice time, and glad you found your phone! Hope to see you again soon.

Leave a Reply

