Support Wednesdays: Bitter or Upbeat?

Today’s meeting wasn’t as emotional as past meetings. Maybe it is because of the hockey game tonight, that makes me nervous and anxiety ridden.  I don’t know.

I talked about my anxiety ridden physical and that God damn number. Others talks of their food plan. My food plan isn’t really a plan. I have 3 goals:

  • Eat 3 meals or 2 with snack on excessively sleepy days. I sometimes have a hard time eating 3.
  • Have fruits and/or vegetables with each meal. I have a hard time with that lately also.
  • Drink fluid. I often forget.

Not really a plan but daily goals I guess.

I talked a little bit about my cold Mom. If I had gotten treatment back then (and saved myself a lot of problems), I am not sure how she would have reacted. She was cold and slightly delusional saving “her” money to buy a diamond tennis bracelet while we did not have food to eat.  I can’t imagine it would have gone well.

The topic changed to music and upbeat songs like Lady Gaga’s music. People were yelling out upbeat, happy songs they listen to get going. What do I listen to get out of my down zone or off of the couch?

Not upbeat songs. The songs I listen to have progressively gotten bitter and sadder as I have gotten older. Maybe I just want to wallow in my misery but maybe Gaslight Anthem can be considered upbeat?  I don’t really know any of Lady Gaga’s music.

I suppose AC/DC could possibly be considered upbeat. Maybe Ray LaMontagne but really, he sings about Trouble, which is a great song. I love that commercial where the dog is trying to protect his bone.

Maybe I can resurrect some Depeche Mode or Erasure from college. At least the memories, while fuzzy from excessive drinking, are good. Or I could go way back to middle school and listen to the GoGo’s. I am going on the cruise next week!

Can a bitter, somewhat melancholy song be uplifting? Music in general, except for Morrissey, makes me happy. Morrissey makes me want to jump off of a cliff. I will have to explore happier music.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Support Wednesdays: Bitter or Upbeat?

  1. Jenna says:

    I think youre right about having sought treatment when you were younger. surviving was the best you could do, and you did the best you could. *HUG*I think whatever music resonates and gives you peace and comfort, even if it doesnt lift you, is happy music. and everyones got their own reasons for why some music hits them a certain way.

  2. Sarah G says:

    I agree with Jenna about not having sought treatment earlier. You did what you could and what you knew to do, and you can't regret that! And you're getting treatment now, which is all that matters.My go-to cheer up music is ABBA or the Beach Boys. Totally random, but they are a sure fire way to get me out of cranky pants and into happy ones!Also, I think the theme for both of us for today and tomorrow should be Go-Go's Vacation, woohoo!

  3. Raine says:

    I listen to emo music. So Im with you with the sad music

Leave a Reply

