Miami: the Good, the Bad and the Boas

It has been a few days! I really need to get a laptop to blog from the road. I have missed writing. My mind was a roller coaster of up and down all weekend.

All in all, I really enjoyed Miami. It was hot. I had no complaints about the weather. The view from my hotel room was gorgeous. 

219079_10150181662902151_725297150_6875535_4964924_o

The reason, and the kick off for my summer of travel, for being in Miami was to attend the SheCon blogging conference, which was being held at the Miami Beach Convention Center.  There were lots of goods things and some bad stuff about the conference.

The people I met were awesome. I know I have made some friendships that I will keep up just from this conference. The people made the conference worth while for me. I made it a point to be friendly and out going. It took a lot of energy though and by the end of the conference I was a bit drained.

070

062

 

025

074

The pictures are from the Wine Sisterhood suite on Friday and Saturday night. It was a lot of fun. The boas took over!

I played tennis, which I will post all about tomorrow. It deserves a post of its own. Me playing tennis! I know but I loved it.

011

Thanks to the Clever Girls Collective, there were cupcakes, every day!

There were some good speakers. I especially liked Mark Horvath of Invisible People. His speech was inspiring and I really admire his work. I hope to someday make a difference somewhere.

015

The conference itself was a bit of a mess, especially the first day. I was disappointed that the turn out was not great. There was confusion over conference space and time and keeping to the schedule on registration day and the first day, were off. It took me a while to find registration and when I did, no one was there. That set things off on a rocky start.

The hotel was part of the problem. In the schedule, there was a pool side networking cocktail hour  but when you went to the pool, there was nothing of the sort. Some things were just off. Maybe it was the first year problems but it was not like I was expecting, though what that was, I don’t know.

For the most part, I tried to put the troubles at home aside for a few days and it mostly succeeded. By the end of the weekend, I was just tired. The energy it took to be out going and friendly had taken its toll. I can’t wait to read the blogs of the people I met.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Miami: the Good, the Bad and the Boas

  1. skinnyhollie says:

    Miami looks like so much fun! Glad you're back 🙂

  2. In spite of the conference downers, it sounds like you made some friends and got do step outside your comfort zone. Yay! … Nothing like SitsGirls to set the bar high for conference organization. That's for sure. : )

  3. Bucksome says:

    I loved meeting you. If the view from our room was that great; I don't know if I would have made it to the conference center.

Leave a Reply

