Mentally Overwhelming

That is describes today perfectly.

It started in a panic. I woke up wicked late and was out the door in 15 minutes. I took my brother to get the first step to getting his license then we went to pick up Dad. Dad was Dad. We gathered up his stuff and headed home. It was good to see him out.

Today was the day that Mom got her feeding tube. Dad asked me to bring him to the nursing home and we went to see her after she got back from the hospital. It was so sad. Mom was drugged and lying down. Dad was sitting next to her and holding her hand.

Dad was crying. He kept saying “I’m sorry.” I started to cry and it made me more stuffy than I already was. They had moved her from her current room in the nursing home to the “next level” in the dementia care part of the nursing home. They don’t want anyone pulling her tube so they moved her up stairs. I went to make sure they took all of her stuff from her old room to the new room.

When we left the nursing home, Dad was talking about how Mom will never have ice cream or a good bowl of macaroni ever again. How it is permanent. How it was needed yet how it hurt it so much. We left feeling very somber.

I ended up hanging out with Dad for the remember of the afternoon. We were on a quest to find Velcro strips to fix the basket on his walker. Do you know how hard it is to find Velcro now?

Well, I went to 3 stores in search of these strips to attach the basket to his walker and had no luck. Tomorrow I will try a few places after work.

Tomorrow is the I’m Blogging on Mental Health Day. I have to think about what to write about. Hmmmm….

This entry was posted in dementia, depression, Mom and Dad. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Mentally Overwhelming

  1. Angela says:

    Sorry you had such a tough day. Praying your mom recovers from her surgery quickly and your dad settles in now that he's back at home. And hope you feel better soon.

  2. Brooke says:

    {{{jen}}} i'm sorry 😦

  3. Lootz says:

    Jen…hang in there girl. I can't imagine how hard it is juggling everything…but you are so strong. Just think you will be in Miami in a few and you can relax & enjoy! {{JEN}}

  4. Raine says:

    I got some velcro at target by the lightbulbs and gorilla glue. Hope that helps 🙂

  5. Very touching bit about your mom and the love your dad, and you have for your mom. Your dad's love is so deep. You can feel it through his choice of worries for her, what she'll miss out on. I'm so sorry for everything you're family is going through. You're in my thoughts and prayers.

  6. Amy Smith says:

    Never give up, never surrender keep your head up.retirement communities new york

  7. Chris says:

    I wish you all well. Don't ever lose hope and always think positive.Nursing Homes in NJ

  8. Sam says:

    These kind of experiences and heartaches are the things that will make you stronger as a person. Always think that there might be other people who are suffering more.Hospice Care

  9. Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. I hope your Mom feels a bit better. Keep on Blogging these experiences so that you can lessen the pain.

Leave a Reply

