A Woman Who Helped Me

With Mother’s Day next weekend. I am going to focus on the good parts of my mother. With her sickness, I tend to only think of the bad times with her illness and problems but there were good times too. She helped to shape me into the strong woman I am today.

Mom was born in Boston as the middle child of three children. She is a first generation American. She met my father in an usual way, while riding around with her girl friends in a car, and my father was walking on the road. The driver knew him and stopped to offer him a ride. He got into the back seat of the car and even though he was drunk, he made an impression on my mother, and the rest is history.

My Mom was very excited to be pregnant with me. When I was born, she was so happy. She stayed home and took care of us. I remember a woman who used to play Barry Manilow while vacuuming and I was dancing. She would take walks with us and used to take me to sports practices.

I try not to focus on the negative all the time. There was a time where she was more alive and happy. I was a healthy happy child when she was happy. I often wonder what life would have been like if Mom never had her mental health issues and then got the dementia. Unfortunately, I can not go back in time but I can remember the good times over the bad times.

I know she loves me deep down inside she loves me. She just can not get the message from where it is to get it out. 

In honor of mothers around the world, especially in Haiti and Rwanda,  Macy’s is offering Heart of Haiti products. Created by Haitian artists, the money is used to help education, nutrition and health care in Haiti as well as getting Haitian artists back to work.

Macy’s is offering a special  15 % off code, CLEVERGIRLS, to get a Mother’s Day gift from the Heart of Haiti or Rwandan Path to Peace Collection.

My favorite is:

It would help me think of the positive side of my Mother and getting over some of my issues.

A walk post will be coming later tonight.

I was selected for this very special “CleverHaiti” opportunity by Clever Girls Collective, which endorses Blog With Integrity. All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in Mom. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

